JoAnn Hounshell

  • CALL Position: Nominations and Elections Committee, Co-Chair, 2015-2016

Using Succession Planning and Knowledge Transfer to Connect the Generations

As a freelance reporter for the CALL Bulletin, I wanted to track down the most interesting and informative programs at the 2015 AALL Annual Meeting in Philadelphia. There were many excellent programs to choose from, and it should come as no surprise to the membership that CALL was well represented in the annual meeting programming.

Photo of Sally Holterhoff
Sally Holterhoff

One program in particular was a standout. Sally Holterhoff (Valparaiso University) co-coordinated the program, Using Succession Planning and Knowledge Transfer to Connect the Generations. Speakers, Deborah Rusin (Katten Muchin Rosenman, LLP), Katrina Miller (Florida State University), Steven Barkan (University of Wisconsin), and Ann Marie Dimino (Blank Rome, LLP) described their experiences in identifying challenges and opportunities as their library prepared for retirements, and loss of positions through attrition. Continue reading Using Succession Planning and Knowledge Transfer to Connect the Generations

Summer Institute of the Association for Collaborative Leadership

Boston, Massachusetts is like Chicago in that, no matter how many times you visit, there is always something new to discover, something new to learn. I had the opportunity, thanks to a CALL travel grant, to learn something new by attending the Summer Institute of the Association for Collaborative Leadership (ACL) in Boston. The purpose of the ACL is to promote and support higher education partnerships through professional development, resource sharing, and program enhancement. Each summer the ACL holds The Institute on Collaboration in Higher Education. The Institute provides a unique opportunity to learn from leaders in consortia, and other collaboration-based non-profit organizations. Continue reading Summer Institute of the Association for Collaborative Leadership

Annual Reports: Nominations & Elections Committee

Committee Members:

Katherine Bruner, Denise Glynn, Barry Herbert, Heidi Kuehl, Lyonette Louis-Jacques, Susan Reitzer, and JoAnn Hounshell (Chair)

Summary of Year’s Activities:

The 2014-2015 Nominations & Elections Committee solicited nominations and conducted the election of Vice President/President Elect, Secretary, and one Director for the CALL Board of Directors.

Continue reading Annual Reports: Nominations & Elections Committee

2014 CALL Award Honorees

Each May, CALL recognizes individuals and institutions that have made significant contributions to the Association and profession. This year CALL honorees represent the best of what librarianship brings to the legal community. The following awards were presented at the May 15 CALL Business Meeting.

Award for Outstanding In-House Publication Honorees:

Agnes and Harvey Reid Award for Outstanding Contributions to Law Librarianship Honoree:

Lifetime Achievement Award Honoree:

JMLS Library & Technology Services win Award

The of John Marshall School of Law Louis L. Biro Law Library and Technology Services departments have been honored for two publications that are useful, creative, well designed and fulfill their intended purpose.

The JMLS Library & Technology Times, a monthly print newsletter keeps faculty and students informed of cool new tools, events in the library and library resources. The newsletter contains colorful graphics and screenshots that do not  distract from the information.

The Library & Technology Guide for Students is a one stop guide to the most frequently asked questions about library services and technology. It is often difficult to get the attention of students and making them aware of library resources and services in a memorable way is a constant challenge. John Marshall School of Law’s Library and Technology Services Department succeeded in providing their students with a quick-start guide to their services.

Scott Vanderlin wins In-House Publication Award

Scott was honored for his creation of the Chicago-Kent College of Law Library’s new video tour. He developed a video that balances the needs of the library user and the librarian. The video engages the user with a clean professional look and provides useful information. At the same time, the creative format of the video makes it easy for librarians to edit.


Even though the video consists of a series of photographs and no actual moving images, Scott zoomed and panned over the pictures to give the look of movement, which keeps the viewer engaged. The use of color along with black and white  photographs of people and places keeps the video visually interesting.

Kimberly Koppen
Kim Koppen provided narration for the video

The music, obtained with a librarian-friendly Creative Commons license, provides a professional touch to the video. An honorable mention goes to Kim Koppen, Library Technology Specialist, for her narration of the video.

Keith Ann Stiverson Receives Agnes and Harvey Reid Award

The Agnes and Harvey Reid Award is given for Outstanding Contributions to Law Librarianship.

Keith Ann’s passion is government relations and public policy. She has served as chair of the CALL Public Affairs Committee (now the Government Relations Committee), the AALL Government Relations Committee and the AALL Copyright Committee, as well as, serving on the AALL Task Force on the Federal Depository Library Program, and the AALL Government Policy Advisory Group. Continue reading Keith Ann Stiverson Receives Agnes and Harvey Reid Award

Julia Wentz receives Lifetime Achievement Award

Julia Wentz, photo by Emily Barney
Julia Wentz, photo by Emily Barney

CALL and the Chicago academic law library community became the beneficiaries of Julia’s expertise and experience when she joined the Loyola University School of Law Library in 1998. Throughout her career, Julia has developed a strong record of participation in law librarianship associations and their activities. Julia served on the CALL Board of Directors from 2003 to 2005, and was also a member of the Program Committee, the Public Relations Committee, and the Grants and Awards Committee.

Continue reading Julia Wentz receives Lifetime Achievement Award