Category Archives: Nominations & Elections

The Nominations and Elections Committee prepares the slate of candidates for the annual Board election, sets up the electronic ballot, oversees online voting, and reports election results to the CALL president

Nominations & Elections Committee 2016-2017 Annual Report

The 2016-2017 Nominations & Elections Committee was Margaret Schilt, Chair, Sally Holterhoff, Stephanie Crawford, Robert Martin, Maribel Nash.

The 2016-2017 Nominations & Elections Committee solicited nominations and conducted the election of Vice President/President Elect, Secretary and one Director for the CALL Board of Directors for 2017-2018.  Continue reading Nominations & Elections Committee 2016-2017 Annual Report

Nominees for CALL Executive Board 2017-2018

The election for officers and directors for CALL’s 2017-2018 year will be held from February 15 to March 15. More information will come to your email closer to the election date.  In the meantime, pictures and statements of the candidates may be found here (login required). Additional nominations may be submitted in accordance with Article IX, Section 3 of Association Bylaws by January 1, 2017.

Margaret Schilt, Chair
Nominations & Elections Committee

CALL 2016-17 Slate of Candidates

The Bulletin is pleased to present your CALL 2016-17 slate of candidates. The candidates’ names are linked to PDF copies of their biographies and statements, which can also be viewed in the members’ area of the CALL website.

The election will begin on February 15, 2016 and end at midnight, March 15, 2016.

To see the bios and statements, visit the elections page on the CALL website, or, after you log into the CALL website, click on the names of the candidates below (login required). Continue reading CALL 2016-17 Slate of Candidates

Annual Reports: Nominations & Elections Committee

Committee Members:

Katherine Bruner, Denise Glynn, Barry Herbert, Heidi Kuehl, Lyonette Louis-Jacques, Susan Reitzer, and JoAnn Hounshell (Chair)

Summary of Year’s Activities:

The 2014-2015 Nominations & Elections Committee solicited nominations and conducted the election of Vice President/President Elect, Secretary, and one Director for the CALL Board of Directors.

Continue reading Annual Reports: Nominations & Elections Committee

CALL 2015 Election Success


The CALL election results are in!  JoAnn Hounshell, Chair of the Nominations and Elections Committee, reports:

With 48% of eligible voters voting, the winners are:

Vice-President/President-Elect: Todd Ito

Todd Ito
Todd Ito

Secretary: Diana Koppang

Diana Koppang
Diana Koppang

Director: Konya Lafferty

Konya Lafferty
Konya Lafferty

Congratulations to the newly elected members of the Board!  And our thanks also to the other candidates – Joe Mitzenmacher, Eugene Giudice, and Kara Young – who were willing to serve CALL in these capacities.  On behalf of the Board, thank you for running, and we hope to see you on the ballot again in the future.

Annual Reports: Nominations & Elections Committee

In early 2013, the Board and subsequently the membership voted to change the Bylaws to combine the Nominations Committee and the Elections Committee into one committee. Thus the Nominations and Elections committee inaugural year was this year.

The first task of the Committee was to determine who should be nominated for the positions of Vice- President/President Elect, Treasurer, and Director. After requesting nominations from the membership and brainstorming ideas for potential candidates, the Committee presented the following slate of candidates to the Board for approval:

  • Vice-President/President Elect: Debbie Ginsberg and Julie Pabarja
  • Treasurer: Stephanie Crawford and Valerie Kropf
  • Director: Jesse Bowman and Robert Martin

The Board approved the slate and approved the election take place between Tuesday, February 18th and Friday, March 14th.

The Committee working with AALL got all of the voting credentials set for all of the eligible voters in time for the start of the election.  There were no CALL members without e-mail addresses, so no paper ballots were produced. The election began as scheduled on February 18th and ended as scheduled on March 14th. There were a few members that did not receive their e-mail from AALL with their voting credentials, however those issues were resolved quickly and the members were able to vote.

Of the 266 members eligible to vote, 144 members elected the following candidates:

  • Julie Pabarja, Vice-President/President Elect
  • Stephanie Crawford, Treasurer
  • Robert Martin, Director

The Nominations and Elections Committee members included Denise Glynn, Ramsey Donnell, Joan Ogden, Kathleen Bruner, Lenore Glanz, Lyonette Louis-Jacques, and Susan Retzer. A very special thank you to Joan Ogden – she is a wealth of information and frankly the knowledge keeper of all things related to the CALL election. We would not have had such a successful election without her wonderful expertise.

This year we had a 54.1% voting rate. In years past the rates have been:

  • 54.7% in 2012/2013
  • 45.4% in 2011/2012
  • 46.5% in 2010/2011
  • 51.9% in 2009/2010
  • 47.8% in 2008/2009

Hopefully next year we can have an unprecedented turn-out to choose our new Board members from a wonderful slate of dedicated CALL members!