Category Archives: Grants & Chapter Awards

The Grants & Chapter Awards Committee selects grant recipients based on established criteria for CALL members to attend professional meetings and selects recipients of the chapter awards.

Nominations for CALL Awards Now Open!

Each year, the Chicago Association of Law Libraries honors members who have made outstanding contributions to the organization and the profession of law librarianship. CALL members are encouraged to submit nominations for the following annual awards:

  • The Award for Outstanding Lifetime Achievement in Law Librarianship is presented annually at the May business meeting to a retired or soon-to-be retired CALL member for their outstanding lifetime achievement in law librarianship.
  • The Award for Outstanding In-House Publication is given to an individual or group who created in-house library materials (print or online) that are user- and staff-oriented, are relevant for law libraries, and are outstanding in quality.

Criteria for each award can be found on the CALL website.

In 2014, the Reid Award was given to Keith Ann Stiverson; the Award for Outstanding Lifetime Achievement was given to Eloise Vondruska and Julia Wentz; and the Award for Outstanding In-House Publication was given to the John Marshall Law School Library and the IIT Chicago-Kent Law Library. Nominate your deserving CALL colleagues to join these distinguished award recipients!

Please submit nominations for all three of these awards to Maribel Nash, Chair, CALL Grants & Chapter Awards Committee, at by March 27, 2015.

Annual Reports: Grants & Chapter Awards Committee


  • Stephanie Crawford
  • Denise Glynn
  • Naomi Goodman
  • Sally Holterhoff
  • Betty Roeske
  • Susan Seibers

Liaison: JoAnn Hounshell

This year CALL offered two grants of up to $750 for the AALL Annual Meeting in San Antonio, TX. The Committee awarded the two AALL grants in 2013-14 to Jesse Bowman, Valparaiso University Law School Library and to Joanne Kiley, Locke Lord LLP.

The annual CALL awards were presented at the May 15, 2014 CALL business meeting. This year, CALL acknowledged two of our finest librarians with the Outstanding Lifetime Achievement in Law Librarianship Award.   Continue reading Annual Reports: Grants & Chapter Awards Committee

2014 CALL Award Honorees

Each May, CALL recognizes individuals and institutions that have made significant contributions to the Association and profession. This year CALL honorees represent the best of what librarianship brings to the legal community. The following awards were presented at the May 15 CALL Business Meeting.

Award for Outstanding In-House Publication Honorees:

Agnes and Harvey Reid Award for Outstanding Contributions to Law Librarianship Honoree:

Lifetime Achievement Award Honoree:

JMLS Library & Technology Services win Award

The of John Marshall School of Law Louis L. Biro Law Library and Technology Services departments have been honored for two publications that are useful, creative, well designed and fulfill their intended purpose.

The JMLS Library & Technology Times, a monthly print newsletter keeps faculty and students informed of cool new tools, events in the library and library resources. The newsletter contains colorful graphics and screenshots that do not  distract from the information.

The Library & Technology Guide for Students is a one stop guide to the most frequently asked questions about library services and technology. It is often difficult to get the attention of students and making them aware of library resources and services in a memorable way is a constant challenge. John Marshall School of Law’s Library and Technology Services Department succeeded in providing their students with a quick-start guide to their services.

Scott Vanderlin wins In-House Publication Award

Scott was honored for his creation of the Chicago-Kent College of Law Library’s new video tour. He developed a video that balances the needs of the library user and the librarian. The video engages the user with a clean professional look and provides useful information. At the same time, the creative format of the video makes it easy for librarians to edit.


Even though the video consists of a series of photographs and no actual moving images, Scott zoomed and panned over the pictures to give the look of movement, which keeps the viewer engaged. The use of color along with black and white  photographs of people and places keeps the video visually interesting.

Kimberly Koppen
Kim Koppen provided narration for the video

The music, obtained with a librarian-friendly Creative Commons license, provides a professional touch to the video. An honorable mention goes to Kim Koppen, Library Technology Specialist, for her narration of the video.

Keith Ann Stiverson Receives Agnes and Harvey Reid Award

The Agnes and Harvey Reid Award is given for Outstanding Contributions to Law Librarianship.

Keith Ann’s passion is government relations and public policy. She has served as chair of the CALL Public Affairs Committee (now the Government Relations Committee), the AALL Government Relations Committee and the AALL Copyright Committee, as well as, serving on the AALL Task Force on the Federal Depository Library Program, and the AALL Government Policy Advisory Group. Continue reading Keith Ann Stiverson Receives Agnes and Harvey Reid Award

Julia Wentz receives Lifetime Achievement Award

Julia Wentz, photo by Emily Barney
Julia Wentz, photo by Emily Barney

CALL and the Chicago academic law library community became the beneficiaries of Julia’s expertise and experience when she joined the Loyola University School of Law Library in 1998. Throughout her career, Julia has developed a strong record of participation in law librarianship associations and their activities. Julia served on the CALL Board of Directors from 2003 to 2005, and was also a member of the Program Committee, the Public Relations Committee, and the Grants and Awards Committee.

Continue reading Julia Wentz receives Lifetime Achievement Award

Eloise Vondruska receives Lifetime Achievement Award

Eloise Vondruska, photo by Emily Barney
Eloise Vondruska, photo by Emily Barney

In February, Eloise retired from the Northwestern University School of Law’s Pritzker Legal Research Center after 25 years of service and active involvement in CALL, AALL, LLMC and LIPA.

Eloise has been a mentor to many librarians throughout her career; and many of her mentees attended the CALL luncheon when she was honored. She has always recognized the importance of maintaining strong connections between law libraries and the greater legal profession. Continue reading Eloise Vondruska receives Lifetime Achievement Award