Annual Reports: Grants and Chapter Awards Committee

Chair:  Maribel Nash

Members:  Jesse Bowman, Megan Butman, Eugene Giudice, Lyonette Louis-Jacques, Beth Schubert

Liaison: Maribel Nash

Throughout the year, CALL awarded grants for member attendance at various continuing education programs and conferences. Grants were awarded to:

  • Lauren Odom, Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP, for the October 2014 MAALL Annual Meeting
  • Jona Whipple, Chicago-Kent College of Law Library, for the March 2015 Law Repositories Conference
  • Kara Young, Pritzker Legal Research Center, Northwestern University School of Law, for the April 2015 ABA Tech Show
  • JoAnn Hounshell, Chicago-Kent College of Law Library, for the June 2015 Association for Collaborative Leadership’s Summer Institute on Collaboration in Higher Education.

CALL offered grants for the AALL Annual Meeting in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. The Committee awarded two AALL grants in 2014-2015 to Emily Barney, Chicago-Kent College of Law Library, and Carolyn Hersch, Neal, Gerber & Eisenberg LLP.

The annual CALL awards were presented at the May 2015 CALL business meeting.

This year, CALL acknowledged two of our finest librarians with the Outstanding Lifetime Achievement in Law Librarianship Award.

  • Lorna Tang, who will be retiring from the D’Angelo Law Library on June 30, 2015, was recognized for her many contributions since joining CALL in 1977. Over the years, Lorna has had a long history of service to CALL and AALL. Lorna has always advocated that technical services work also serves the public, by making library materials discoverable and easy to understand.
  • The Outstanding Lifetime Achievement in Law Librarianship Award was also presented to Mary Lu Linnane, who retired from the DePaul Law Library in June 2014. Mary Lu was a very active CALL and AALL member, chairing many committees along the way. Mary Lu also served as CALL President, not once but twice—she is only the second CALL President to do so.  Mary Lu also received the Agnes and Harvey Reid Award twice for her outstanding service to the Chapter.

The Agnes and Harvey Reid Award for Outstanding Contribution to Law Librarianship was awarded to JoAnn Hounshell of the Chicago-Kent College of Law Library. JoAnn has provided unparalleled service and dedication to law librarianship.  She has worked diligently to improve every organization she has worked with, and has never failed to make a difference.  JoAnn has been committed to serving law librarianship and law libraries for over 25 years.  She is well known to CALL, having served on the Board three times.  She has been elected both Treasurer (2004-06) and Director (1998-99).  Most recently, she served as Vice President/President/Past President (2011-14). JoAnn has been extremely active in AALL and other organizations.  Currently, JoAnn serves as the Vice Chair of LIPA (Legal Information Preservation Alliance).

This year CALL presented the award for Outstanding In-House Publication to Sean Rebstock of DLA Piper. Sean created Managing My eBrief, a five-minute video for attorneys that is useful, creative, well-designed, and fulfills its intended purpose.

As part of its housekeeping duties, the Committee also reviewed the criteria for grants and the criteria for awards, sending recommendations for Board consideration. The Committee sought to remove the 12-month membership requirement from the CALL grant criteria and also sought to revise the CALL grants form to solicit additional information from applicants that would assist the Committee in making better-informed decisions.