President’s Letter

Dear CALL Colleagues:

This is my fifth and final President’s message to you (including the one bonus message from last year), because during the May CALL business meeting at Petterino’s, I passed the gavel to Jessie LeMar. We can all rest easy knowing that our association (and the gavel) will be in her capable hands for the upcoming year.

I want to take one final opportunity to thank the Board members, committee chairs, and committee members for volunteering their time to make this an eventful and productive CALL year. Here are some of the highlights from 2018-19:


The Mentorship and Leadership Development Committee had a successful launch this year, including the creation of a page on the CALL website and hosting several events.

One of those events is the June 13 AALL Session Preview, which they will be co-hosting along with the Continuing Education Committee. We hope this inaugural event showcasing the members of CALL who will be giving presentations during the AALL Annual Meeting becomes an annual one.

The CALL Archives moved back to Chicago, where they will now reside under the watchful eyes of St. Ignatius of Loyola.

CALL members overwhelmingly voted to approve the amendment to the membership section of the CALL Bylaws, thereby aligning our membership categories with those of AALL.

The Board has approved the new CALL Strategic Plan. This new Plan will cover the next three years and will carry us into CALL’s 75th anniversary year (2021-22). Special thanks to Jean Wenger and the members of her committee for overseeing this process.

CALL Award Winners

CALL members were big winners of AALL awards this year. First, during the AALL Innovation Tournament at the Annual Meeting in Baltimore, Todd Ito and Scott Vanderlin won the “Audience Choice” award.

More recently, when the winners of the 2019 AALL Awards were announced in April, we learned that Keith Ann Stiverson would be receiving the Robert L. Oakley Advocacy Award, and that Julie Pabarja would be receiving the Volunteer Service Award. Congratulations are in order for all!

Recognizing CALL Board Members

Special words of thanks are in order to our outgoing 2018-19 Board members:

  • To Past President Clare Willis – thank you for your wisdom and guidance.
  • To Secretary Annie Mentkowski – thank you for your diligence and attention to detail.
  • To Director Scott Vanderlin – thank you for your creativity and thoughtfulness.

Congratulations to our newly installed Board members, whom I look forward to working with during the upcoming CALL year:

  • Vice President/President-Elect Lindsey Carpino
  • Secretary Philip Johnson
  • Director Megan Butman

Finally, thanks to all of you for allowing me the opportunity to serve as CALL President. I will end my term the same way as I started it: by encouraging you to volunteer for (or to lead) a CALL committee next year.

Volunteering is the best way to get the most from your CALL membership, and it provides an opportunity for you to network and to build your professional portfolio while you give back to our association.

Here’s to a great 2019-20!

Joe Mitzenmacher