CALL Member Leaders in AALL and SLA

As CALL’s new Executive Board begins their term on June 1, I would like to recognize CALL members who will be taking on leadership roles within AALL and SLA in 2015-2016.  Their commitment to these associations and our profession is a great reflection on them as individuals and on CALL.  CALL wishes them great success in the upcoming year.

American Association of Law Libraries

Executive Board –

  • Keith Ann Stiverson will be AALL President .

AALL Committees –

  • June Liebert will be Chair of the Annual Meeting Program Committee (AMPC) for the AALL Annual Meeting and Conference that will be held in Chicago in 2016. Joining her on the committee will be Debbie Ginsberg and Julie Pabarja.
  • Megan Butman and Maribel Nash will serve as Co-Chairs of the 2016 Local Arrangements Committee and will help showcase what our city has to offer when the 2016 AALL Annual Meeting is in Chicago. They will have the help of the following CALL members who will lead subcommittees for the Local Arrangements Committee.
    • Hospitality: Jamie Sommer and Lucy Robbins
    • Exhibits: Vanessa Meihaus
    • Library Tours and Excursions: Scott Vanderlin and Tom Gaylord
    • Publicity and Website: Jesse Bowman
    • Registration: Annie Mentkowski and Joe Mitzenmacher
    • Restaurant Guide: Beth Mrkvicka
    • Volunteers: Claire Durkin and Carolyn Hersch
  • Joanne Kiley will serve as Chair of the AALL Leadership Development Committee for 2015-16.
  • Diana Koppang will serve as Vice- Chair of the Economic Status of Law Librarians Committee.
  • Carolyn Hersch becomes a member of the Copyright Committee. She is also currently on a task force working on updating the Model Law Firm Copyright Policy.

Special Interest Section Leaders –

  • Diana Koppang will lead the Private Law Librarians & Information Professionals SIS’ Intellectual Property Caucus as its Chair.
  • Eric Parker is the incoming Vice Chair/Chair-Elect of Technical Services SIS.
  • Kara Young was elected Secretary-Treasurer of the Computing Services SIS.

Special Libraries Association

Amy Affelt was named as a 2015 SLA Fellow and will be recognized at the SLA annual conference in Boston.