CALL Public Relations Committee 2019-2020 Annual Report

In 2019-2020, the CALL Public Relations Committee had the following members: Shari Berkowitz Duff, Debbie Ginsberg, Lyonette Louis-Jacques (Chair), Sharon Nelson, and Debbie Rusin. Jesse Bowman served as CALL Board Liaison. The PR Committee had an introductory meeting on September 5, 2019 via Zoom. The Chair met with the CALL Board on November 12, 2019, via conference call to speak about the Committee’s public relations-related plans for the upcoming year. During the year, the PR Committee promoted and announced CALL business meetings, CALL Chapter and AALL award winners, and other activities via social media – Twitter, Facebook, and LinkedIn., and supported the work of other CALL committees.

Specifically, Lyonette Louis-Jacques and Debbie Ginsberg live-tweeted events and posted announcements on @CALLChicago. Debbie attended the CALL business meetings, tweeted, and posted photos on Twitter. Sharon Nelson posted CALL news on Facebook and LinkedIn. Debbie Ginsberg maintained the CALL website. The CALL listserv/discussion forum was maintained by Britnee Cole. Among other activities, the PR Committee gave Diana Koppang, Chair, CALL Placement and Recruitment Committee, feedback on the new “Careers in Law Librarianship” page she created, and Debbie Ginsberg helped to add it to the drop down menu of “Jobs & Careers” at the CALL website. The PR Committee promoted the CALL Mentorship and Leadership Development Committee’s “A Day in the Life” event on CALL’s social media. The PR Committee helped the CALL Government Relations Committee with finding new editors and authors for revised Finding Illinois Law: A Librarian’s Guide for Non-Lawyers (2012) and offered to help with re-imagining its web presence.